Blaugust D24: A day for pushing through

After that practically missing day, today was the day to push through the pain and get things done. Got things done at work, got things done at home. The reaction will come eventually but for now I’m still pumped on adrenaline.

Woke up feeling rather meh and even considered taking the day off. As if to push me towards that stomach decided to act up too bright and early. I called this person who was recently assigned to help me on my project, hoping to get her up to speed on what to do should I decide to take the second half of the day off (didn’t feel right to just up and ditch work without any notice since we have this big deadline tomorrow).

As soon as we start talking though she tells me she seems to have caught the same bug and was quite ill yesterday. And even as we were discussing the work that might or might not come in and what she would have to do to tackle it, said work comes in and I feel obliged to at least give her a hand to begin with.

In order to help clear my head enough to work a bit, I had a cup of tea and that somehow gave me enough of a boost to keep going. Worked through lunch, eating just some toast at my desk and managed to get most of the work done.

I had planned to do a little cooking today since it had been over a week since my last time and I had some capsicum in the fridge that was looking awfully sad and only a power cut away from becoming unsalvageable. But work took all day and it was already close to 7. Wondered if I should try cooking my “lunch” that late or just order something. The latter felt like too much brain work and my brain was rather fried from overuse through the day. So cooking it is, I decided.

Actually managed to cook myself a nice meal, even if it did take a good 2 hours. As if to mar a mostly decent day, landlord asshole sent me a nasty text. Really pissed me off and I replied more unguardedly than I should have probably (he deserves it — but I hope it doesn’t come back to bite me later though). I think it’s that irritation more than the satisfaction of having finished work and cooked (despite being under the weather) that has me feeling pumped now.

A burning anger can give a boost of energy like no other. Without it, I would probably be feeling all exhausted and done now. Instead, I feel like I could punch that asshole a dozen times (not that I actually would — can’t remember a time when I’ve physically been violent ever; don’t even throw and break things when angry, just yell).

Anyway, I had a nice idea for a blog post related to India’s moon landing but that will have to wait now. Venting takes priority since this is my only outlet these days.

And as an aside, it’s interesting to note how the words just flow when I’m venting. Yesterday’s and today’s posts are probably the longest ones I’ve written this month. And both took just 15-20 minutes or so. Hah!

The fabulous dinner I cooked — lemon rice and capsicum fry with leftover potato fry from last week

Leave a comment